Public Works

About the Department
The work of the employees of the Public Works department touches the lives of residents and visitors daily by providing for the maintenance of city municipal facilities, the operations and maintenance of city streets, storm drains, parks and forestry.
Streets Division
The Streets Division handles all plowing and salting of city streets. Street Department crews normally clear all streets curb-to-curb within 10 to 12 hours of a snowfall. Street sweeping is done spring, summer and fall, weather permitting, to keep the debris out of storm sewers, lakes, and ponds. Each year city streets are reconditioned with new asphalt and seal-coating. Sidewalks, curbs, and gutters are also replaced when necessary during these periodic overhauls.

Utilities Division

The Utilities Division constantly monitors the city's water supply by insuring its purity and abundance. This division also provides maintenance on the sanitary sewer system. This includes wells and lift stations at approximately 60 locations. These personnel are licensed by the State of Minnesota to operate systems.

Forestry Division

The Forestry Division oversees the implementation of the shade tree disease control program, landscaping, and reforestation of public lands. The division is also in charge of the maintenance of publicly-owned trees and shrubs, boulevards, and streetscaping as well as maintenance of public forested trail systems and provides assistance to residents on forestry related issues.

Fleet and Facilities Division
The Fleet and Facilities Division maintains over 6 million dollars of vehicles and equipment which is replaced based on an approved equipment replacement schedule.